A Legacy Of Championships

Without the Western Golf Association, the game of golf wouldn’t be the same. Our organization was established in 1899 to promote golf in the western region of the United States. Today, our championships rank among the oldest and most prestigious in the world.

BMW Championship

Castle Pines Golf Club
Castle Rock, Colorado
August 19-25, 2024

As the penultimate event of the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup Playoffs, the BMW Championship features the best field in golf competing on world-class venues. It’s the oldest event on the PGA TOUR and the signature fundraising benefit for the Evans Scholars Foundation.

In the more than 100 years since its inception, the championship’s J.K. Wadley trophy has been engraved with the names of golf’s greatest legends, including Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods.

Learn more

Western Amateur

Moraine Country Club
Dayton, Ohio
July 29-August 3, 2024

The Western Amateur is the most grueling test in amateur golf. To win, the Western Amateur champion must play 72 holes of stroke play and finish in the top 16 to qualify for match play. He must then win four matches against the most talented amateur golfers in the world over the next two days.

With past champions like Chick Evans, Jack Nicklaus, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods, the Western Amateur is where golf’s rising stars showcase their abilities.

Learn more

NV5 Invitational presented by Old National Bank

The Glen Club
Glenview, Illinois
July 23-July 28, 2024

Since 2019, the Korn Ferry Tour and the Western Golf Association have partnered to conduct the NV5 Invitational presented by Old National Bank.

With Alumni like Justin Thomas, Scottie Scheffler and Cameron Young, the Korn Ferry Tour is the path to the PGA TOUR. The NV5 Invitational is a showcase for golf’s next generation of stars. All proceeds from the event benefit the Evans Scholars Foundation.

Learn more

Western Junior

Ruth Lake Country Club
Hinsdale, Illinois
June 17-20, 2024

Established in 1914, the Western Junior has served as a proving ground for future PGA TOUR stars, including past champions Collin Morikawa, Rickie Fowler and Jim Furyk. Each year, the finest junior players from across the United States and the world compete for this coveted title.

The Western Junior is the oldest national junior championship in golf. It is open to competitors, ages 15 to 19, with a handicap of 3.0 or less.

Learn more

Women’s Western Amateur

Onwentsia Club
Lake Forest, Illinois
July 15-20, 2024

The WGA has partnered with the Women’s Western Golf Association to administer the Women’s Western Amateur. Held without interruption since 1901, this event is one of the oldest annual championships in women’s amateur golf. The list of past champions includes current stars and legends of the LPGA TOUR, including Ariya Jutanugarn (2012), Stacy Lewis (2006), Brittany Lang (2003), Grace Park (1998), Cristie Kerr (1995) and Nancy Lopez (1976).

The field is comprised of 120 players with a USGA handicap of 5.4 or less. The tournament begins with 36 holes of stroke play, after which the field is trimmed to 32 players for three days of match play.

Learn more

Women’s Western Junior

Hinsdale Golf Club
Hinsdale, Illinois
June 10-14, 2024

The WGA has partnered with the Women’s Western Golf Association to administer the Women’s Western Junior, which was first held in 1920. The championship features an outstanding field of competitors, many of whom go on to become top amateur and college players. Notable past champions include Cristie Kerr (1994), Grace Park (1993) and Nancy Lopez (1972-74).

The field is comprised of top-ranked amateurs who are 18 years or younger and carry a handicap index of 14.4 or lower. The tournament begins with 36 holes of stroke play to establish 16 match play qualifiers.

Learn more