This is your resource to find the answers to commonly asked questions about the Evans Scholars Foundation and the Evans Scholarship.

What is the Evans Scholars Foundation?

The Evans Scholars Foundation is a charitable trust that provides full, four-year tuition and housing college scholarships to deserving caddies. The Foundation is overseen by the Western Golf Association, which also runs six prestigious golf tournaments, including the BMW Championship.

Am I eligible for the Evans Scholarship?

Applicants must have a strong caddie record, excellent grades, demonstrated financial need and outstanding character. Find out more about the Evans Scholarship application here.

How many Evans Scholarships are awarded each year?

The number of Evans Scholarships awarded changes each year. In 2022, 875 caddies applied for the Evans Scholarship and 325 Scholarships were awarded for the 2023-24 academic year.

How do I apply for the Evans Scholarship?

 Scholarship applications are accepted at the beginning of an applicant’s senior year of high school, as well as from college freshmen. The entire application - including supporting documents like evaluations, recommendation letters, transcripts, test scores, and a CSS profile - are expected to be completed by October 15th. Since the FAFSA will not be available until December 2023, the deadline to submit the SAR to the Scholarship Committee will be on or before January 15. Read more about the application process here.

When is the Evans Scholarship awarded?

Most Scholarships are awarded during the applicant’s senior year in high school. Applications are reviewed by the Scholarship Committee, and candidates compete for the limited number of Scholarships awarded annually. Read more about the process on our application resources page.

Which universities can I attend?

Living in an Evans Scholars House on campus is an integral component of the Evans Scholars Program. Applicants are expected to apply to the Evans Scholars university(ies) listed for their state (Illinois residents are expected to apply to the University of Illinois, Champaign and the University of Illinois, Chicago and other applicable Evans Scholar universities). Applicants apply directly to the university(ies) for admission. Early action and regular decision applications are recommended.



State Residents are expected to apply and be admitted to:


University of Colorado, Boulder


University of Illinois, Champaign AND the University of Illinois, Chicago*


Indiana University, Bloomington AND Purdue University, West Lafayette


University of Iowa, Iowa City*


University of Kansas, Lawrence


University of Maryland, College Park*


Michigan State University, East Lansing AND University of Michigan, Ann Arbor


University of Minnesota, Minneapolis


University of Missouri, Columbia

New Jersey

Rutgers University, New Brunswick*


Miami University, Oxford AND Ohio State University, Columbus


University of Oregon, Eugene


Penn State University, University Park


University of Washington, Seattle


University of Minnesota, Minneapolis AND University of Wisconsin, Madison

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

University of Kansas, Lawrence, the University of Oregon, Eugene, and the University of Washington, Seattle

Arkansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas

University of Kansas, Lawrence

Alabama, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee

University of Kansas, Lawrence AND Miami University, Oxford

Delaware, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington D.C. and West Virginia

University of Maryland, College Park* AND Rutgers University, New Brunswick*

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont

Rutgers University, New Brunswick* AND the University of Maryland, College Park*


University of Washington, Seattle

American Samoa, Guam, Northern Marianas Islands, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands

Please inquire at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Private Partner Universities

We welcome applicants to apply to Howard University*, Marquette University, Northwestern University the University of Chicago*and the University of Notre Dame*


*At a university without a Scholarship House, Scholars live together in a designated university residence hall