Top awards announced at Summer Leadership Summit

Glenview, Ill. – Evans Scholars from the University of Kansas and University of Michigan were named the Program’s most outstanding graduating seniors during the Evans Scholars Foundation’s Summer Leadership Summit on Saturday, July 30, leaders have announced.

Anh-Dao Do of Kansas and Erik Haneberg of Michigan were honored as the 2022 Evans Scholars of the Year, the most prestigious title a student can earn within the Evans Scholars Program.

Evans Scholars are caddies who have earned a full, four-year tuition and housing scholarship to college based on displaying a strong caddie record, excellent academics, financial need and outstanding character. The Evans Scholars Program has been run by the Western Golf Association since its founding in 1930. This fall, a record 1,100 caddies will be enrolled at 22 top partner universities nationwide as Evans Scholars, and more than 11,556 caddies have graduated since the program began.

Anh-Dao Do is from Kansas City, Kansas, and caddied at Indian Hills Country Club in Mission Hills, Kansas. She graduated from the University of Kansas with a degree in chemistry and earned a 3.9 GPA. Do served as philanthropy chair and administrative vice president of the Kansas Evans Scholars chapter. She also received the KU department of chemistry’s Frank A. Newby Physical Science Award and Drs. Bijan and Mary Taylor Amini Scholarship for exceptional merit. Do will return to the University of Kansas this fall to pursue a joint MBA/MD.

“No words can express my sincerest gratitude for those who have contributed to my success,” she said. “Everything I have accomplished wouldn’t be possible without the Evans Scholarship. I am sincerely grateful for this life-changing opportunity to pursue a higher education that could one day lead me to complete my lifelong dreams.”

Erik Haneberg is from Chicago, Illinois, and caddied at Evanston Golf Club. He graduated from the University of Michigan with a degree in biology, health and society and earned a 3.8 GPA. He served as vice president of New Scholars and president of the Michigan Evans Scholars chapter, and as co-chair of the Evans Scholars National Committee. At Michigan, he was also recognized for academic excellence as a James B. Angell Scholar and achieved university honors for five terms. Haneberg plans to attend medical school and pursue a career in orthopedic surgery.

“I extend my thanks and gratitude to every individual that has a hand in what I believe is the most extraordinary scholarship in the nation,” he said. “Thank you for the generous financial, moral and academic support you have provided for countless Evans Scholars.”

“Our Evans Scholars of the Year have raised the bar with their excellence in academics, leadership and dedication to their communities, even in the midst of a challenging past few years,” said WGA President and CEO John Kaczkowski. “Anh-Dao and Erik have embodied what it means to be outstanding Evans Scholars during their college careers; we are incredibly proud of what they’ve accomplished and look forward to supporting them in the next step of their journeys.”

The University of Notre Dame Evans Scholars were also recognized for achieving the highest cumulative GPA, a 3.6, for the 2021-2022 school year, across all the Program’s Scholarship chapters. They were awarded the James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy for academic excellence, which has been presented annually since 1962 to honor the Evans Scholarship chapter earning the highest cumulative GPA.