Oscar Garcia, Amanda Polanski will serve as co-chairs for 2020-21

GLENVIEW, IL – Kansas Evans Scholar Oscar Garcia and Minnesota Evans Scholar Amanda Polanski have been named the new co-chairs of the Evans Scholars National Committee for the 2020-21 academic year.

The National Committee is responsible for helping to plan Program-wide events, such as the New Scholar summit, as well as serve as liaisons to the 1,010 Evans Scholars across the country on high-level topics. They participate in philanthropic and organizational events.

We know these students will do an outstanding job of helping to lead the Evans Scholars Program, particularly during this challenging period. Below is a brief bio on the new National Committee leaders.

Oscar Garcia, of Lenexa, Kansas, caddied at Indian Hills Country Club in Mission Hills, Kansas. He is a junior at the University of Kansas, studying strategic communications. Oscar is a two-term president at the Kansas Evans Scholars chapter and is currently serving his second term.

Amanda Polanski, of Minnetrista, Minnesota, caddied at The Minikahda Club in Minneapolis. She is a junior at the University of Minnesota, majoring in biology. Amanda is president of the Minnesota Evans Scholars chapter, after serving as vice president of finance in 2019.