Sixteen caddies to attend leading universities in the fall

GOLF, IL – Sixteen Wisconsin students have been awarded the Evans Scholarship, a full housing and tuition college grant offered to golf caddies, following a final selection interview held at Chenequa Country Club in Hartland, Wisconsin, on Dec. 18.
Each caddie has a unique story to tell, reflecting the scholarship’s four selection criteria: a strong caddie record; excellent academics; demonstrated financial need; and outstanding character. They will begin college in the fall of 2019 as Evans Scholars, with most recipients awarded to the University of Wisconsin in Madison. The Evans Scholarship is valued at an estimated $120,000 over four years.

Winners are listed below and organized by hometown.

“Each of these deserving Evans Scholars epitomizes what our Program has been about since its creation in 1930,” said WGA Chairman Frank Morley. “Their dedication, hard work and sacrifice is humbling, and we are honored to be able to help them pursue their dreams.”

The selection meeting at Chenequa Country Club was one of more than 20 such meetings the Evans Scholars Foundation will hold across the country through the spring. When the 2018-19 selection meeting process is completed by April, an estimated 280 caddies are expected to be awarded the Evans Scholarship.

The Western Golf Association, headquartered in Golf, Illinois, has supported the Chick Evans Scholarship Program through the Evans Scholars Foundation since 1930. One of golf’s favorite charities, it is the nation’s largest scholarship program for caddies.

Currently, a record 985 caddies are enrolled in 18 universities across the nation as Evans Scholars, and more than 10,830 caddies have graduated as Evans Scholars since the program was founded by famed Chicago amateur golfer Charles “Chick” Evans Jr.

“These young people are driven to excel even under difficult circumstances,” says Greg Trapani, lead WGA Director in the state of Wisconsin. “Their personal journeys remind of the deep need for this type of scholarship that can change lives. I’m thrilled to welcome our new Evans Scholars from Wisconsin.”

Scholarship funds come mostly from contributions by 32,000 golfers across the country, who are members of the Evans Scholars Par Club program. Evans Scholars Alumni donate more than $10 million annually, and all proceeds from the BMW Championship, the third of four PGA TOUR Playoff events in the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup competition, are donated to the Evans Scholars Foundation.


Name City High School Sponsoring Club University
Madeline Krogwold Brookfield Brookfield East HS Westmoor CC Minnesota
Kelsey Gelden Burlington Burlington HS Big Foot CC Wisconsin
Lily Schwenk Elkhorn Elkhorn Area HS Big Foot CC Wisconsin
Nolan Shirk Elkhorn Elkhorn Area HS Big Foot CC Wisconsin
Jack Calkins Franklin Franklin HS Tuckaway CC Wisconsin
Jacob Reindl Franklin Franklin HS Racine CC Wisconsin
William Templeton Green Bay Notre Dame De La Baie Academy Oneida G&CC Wisconsin
Kayla Kerns Lake Geneva Badger HS Big Foot CC Wisconsin
Alexander Glatz Menomonee Falls Hamilton HS Milwaukee CC Wisconsin
Maxwell Kachelek Menomonee Falls Menomonee Falls HS Milwaukee CC Wisconsin
Clay Lancour Nekoosa Nekoosa HS Sand Valley GR Wisconsin
Olivia Oehrlein Sun Prairie Sun Prairie HS Nakoma GC Wisconsin
Victoria Zubella Sussex Hamilton HS North Hills CC Wisconsin
Dayne Hagedorn Wausau Wausau West HS Wausau CC Wisconsin
Benjamin Chapel West Bend West Bend East HS West Bend CC Wisconsin
Cale Kubisiak Wisconsin Rapids Assumption HS Sand Valley GR Wisconsin