Chapters will share James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy

GLENVIEW, Ill. – The Evans Scholars at the University of Notre Dame and the University of Michigan chapters were awarded the James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy for academic excellence, Evans Scholars Foundation leaders have announced.

The trophy is given annually to the Evans Scholars chapter that earns the highest cumulative GPA for the previous school year. For the 2019-20 school year, the Notre Dame and Michigan chapters both achieved a cumulative 3.7 GPA – an academic record - to win the competition. This award has been given annually since 1962.

“This year’s winners have shown outstanding academic leadership during what was a very challenging year,” said WGA President and CEO John Kaczkowski. “We are very proud of the Evans Scholars at both the University of Notre Dame and the University of Michigan. Their hard work and dedication is certainly an inspiration for all students.”

Evans Scholars are caddies who have earned a full, four-year tuition and housing grant based on their strong caddie record, excellent academics, financial need and outstanding character. The Evans Scholars Program has been run by the Western Golf Association since its founding in 1930.

This fall, a record 1,045 caddies are enrolled at 19 universities nationwide as Evans Scholars, and more than 11,300 students have graduated since the program began.