Twenty-three caddies to attend leading universities in the fall

GOLF, IL –Twenty-three Michigan students have been awarded the Evans Scholarship, a full housing and tuition college grant offered to golf caddies, following a final selection interview held at Oakland Hills Country Club in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, on Jan. 10.

Each caddie has a unique story to tell, reflecting the scholarship’s four selection criteria: a strong caddie record; excellent academics; demonstrated financial need; and outstanding character. They will begin college in the fall of 2019 as Evans Scholars, with recipients awarded to the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor or Michigan State University in East Lansing. The Evans Scholarship is valued at an estimated $120,000 over four years. Winners are listed below and organized by hometown.

“Each of these deserving Evans Scholars epitomizes what our Program has been about since its creation in 1930,” said WGA Chairman Frank Morley. “Their dedication, hard work and sacrifice is humbling, and we are honored to be able to help them pursue their dreams.”

The selection meeting at Oakland Hills Country Club was one of more than 20 such meetings the Evans Scholars Foundation will hold across the country through the spring. When the 2018-19 selection meeting process is completed by April, an estimated 280 caddies are expected to be awarded the Evans Scholarship.

The Western Golf Association, headquartered in Golf, Illinois, has supported the Chick Evans Scholarship Program through the Evans Scholars Foundation since 1930. One of golf’s favorite charities, it is the nation’s largest scholarship program for caddies.

Currently, a record 985 caddies are enrolled in 18 universities across the nation as Evans Scholars, and more than 10,830 caddies have graduated as Evans Scholars since the program was founded by famed Chicago amateur golfer Charles “Chick” Evans Jr.
“The Evans Scholars selection meeting is the highlight of the year,” says Scott Wilson, lead WGA Director in the state of Michigan. “Each caddie interviewed tells us about their achievements as well as the obstacles they have overcome. Each of their stories are compelling. I am so proud that these talented young men and women are becoming Evans Scholars.”

Scholarship funds come mostly from contributions by 32,000 golfers across the country, who are members of the Evans Scholars Par Club program. Evans Scholars Alumni donate more than $10 million annually, and all proceeds from the BMW Championship, the third of four PGA TOUR Playoff events in the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup competition, are donated to the Evans Scholars Foundation.

Name  City High School Sponsoring Golf Club Awarded University
John McGrath Beverly Hills Everest Collegiate HS Birngham CC Michigan State
Elliott Langton Brutus Harbor Springs HS Wequetonsing GC Michigan
Jared Sattelberg Caro Caro HS Warwick Hills G&CC Michigan
LaNique Calhoun Commerce University HS Academy Franklin Hills CC Michigan State
Lacey Hamilton Detroit Cranbrook Schools Detroit GC Michigan
Owen Brewer East Lansing Okemos HS CC of Lansing Michigan
Aedan Jager East Lansing Lansing Catholic HS CC of Lansing Michigan State
William Newbold Frankfort Frankfort HS Crystal Downs CC Michigan
Jacob Domagalski Grand Rapids Northview HS Kent CC Michigan
 Thomas Jarecki Grosse Pointe Woods Grosse Pointe North HS Lochmoor Club Michigan State
 Samuel Plieth Grosse Pointe Woods Grosse Pointe North HS Lochmoor Club Michigan State
Joseph Rheaume Grosse Pointe Woods Grosse Pointe North HS Lochmoor Club Michigan State
Jared Riggins Jackson Jackson HS CC of Jackson Michigan State
Brianna Harris Mount Clemens Chippewa Valley HS Lochmoor Club Michigan State
Makayla Haywood Oxford Oxford HS Oakland Hills CC Michigan State
Edmund Black III Redford University of Detroit Jesuit HS Plum Hollow CC Michigan
Natalie Vaglia Rochester Hills Rochester Adams HS Oakland Hills CC Michigan
Taylin Smith Roseville Chandler Park Academy HS Detroit GC Michigan
Andrew Hendren Royal Oak Royal Oak HS Red Run GC Michigan State
Kaitlyn Steeves Saint Clair Shores Lake Shore HS Lochmoor Club Michigan State
Nicklaus Feimster Southfield West Bloomfield HS Red Run GC Michigan State
Ambra Bello Troy International Academy Bloomfield Hills CC Michigan
Noah Hamama West Bloomfield Walled Lake Central HS Birngham CC Michigan